Skip to Content

SCCA Solo News

Syndicate content
Sports Car Club of America
Updated: 2 years 3 weeks ago

SCCA Members Recognized With National Level Awards

February 19, 2015 - 8:00pm
TOPEKA, Kan. (Feb. 20, 2015) – Eight SCCA Club Racing, RallyCross and Solo awards were presented to the respective winners at three Divisional Conventions, and two Regional Conventions, during the month of January. The presentation of these awards, which have historically been given out as part of the SCCA National Convention, were moved to the Regional and Divisional Conventions to present the awards in front of each driver’s friends and peers. As part of the Rocky Mountain Divisional Convention, held Jan. 25, Rupert Berrington was given the Spark Plug Award. This is an annual award given to an individual, Region or Division that has made an outstanding effort in promoting and publicizing RallyCross using many media platforms. In total three awards were given out at the Southeast Divisional Convention, on Jan. 31. Charles Wright, the SEDIV RallyCross steward, accepted the Divisional RallyCross Program of the Year award on behalf his division. The Tennessee Valley Region was presented with the RallyCross Region of the Year. As part of the festivities, Rick Mitchell was given Club Racing’s David Morrell Award. This honor is given to an active National Chief Steward for exhibiting outstanding performance and dedication to the sport while upholding the highest of principles. Morrell was selected by the Chairman of the Stewards and the remaining Executive Stewards. Presented the same day on the opposite coast at the San Francisco Region Solo Awards Banquet, Mark Scroggs took home Solo Rookie of the Year honors. Scroggs earned the award after claiming the G Street National Championship in his first trip to the Tire Rack Solo National Championship. With limited competition experience, he earned the title with a 0.4-second margin of victory over 26 other drivers. On Feb. 6, two awards were presented at the Chicago Region awards dinner. Al Varacins was awarded the Club Racing Crew Chief of the Year, while Daniel Bender was named the winner of the Kimberly Cup for being the most improved Club Racing driver after winning a Touring 4 National Championship. At the Midwest Division Convention that same night, Cliff Ira was named the Jim Fitzgerald National Rookie of the Year in Club Racing. Ira was the Super Tour Lite National Champion in 2014. Still to be given out at the SCCA National Convention during the SCCA Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet presented by Mazda on Saturday, Feb. 21, are the Woolf Barnato Award, Member of Excellence, President’s Cup and Solo Driver of the Year. The RallyCross Dirty Cup will be awarded to the winner at a future time. Below is a summary of awards and the winner, broken down by discipline. Club Racing Crew Chief of the Year: Al Varacins, Chicago Region David Morrell Award: Rick Mitchell, Atlanta Region Jim Fitzgerald National Rookie of the Year: Cliff Ira, Buccaneer and Kansas City Regions Kimberly Cup: Daniel Bender, Chicago Region RallyCross Divisional RallyCross Program of the Year: Southeast Division RallyCross Region of the Year: Tennessee Valley Region Spark Plug Award: Rupert Berrington, Colorado Region Solo Solo Rookie of the Year: Mark Scroggs, San Francisco Region Additional information on each award presented by SCCA can be found here. Like SCCA on Facebook at and follow the Club on Twitter @SCCAOfficial. 

SCCA National Convention Kicks off With Annual Meeting

February 19, 2015 - 8:00pm
CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Feb. 20, 2015) – The Annual Meeting served as the starting gun to the 2015 Sports Car Club of America National Convention and MSX Expo, held at the Charlotte Convention Center on Friday morning. The meeting was the first of several leadership and informational sessions for SCCA members. The over-arching theme of the Convention is 2020. Not only does the theme encompass a look forward in a five-year timeframe, but also a clear look back at where the Club has been in the past year and throughout our history. By referencing what worked in the past and what did not, the goal is to move forward with a clear vision and renewed vigor in what we can do in moving SCCA forward. SCCA President/CEO Lisa Noble opened the meeting, welcoming members of all stripes. The mic was then handed off to Chairman of the SCCA Board of Directors John Walsh. Aside from welcoming members on behalf of the Board, Walsh also spoke to many of the personnel changes within the organization. That included the induction of two new board members, Area Three Director Lee Hill and Area 11 Director KJ Christopher. Noble then took over the stage to outline the direction of the Club moving toward the future. One highlight put forth by Noble was the creation of new programs to further enhance the Club membership experience. New programs like Track Night in America, the Classic American Muscle Challenge, Solo Trials, Track Fest, Starting Line program enhancements and the ongoing push for an SCCA Kids Club were some of the notable programs that were introduced. Robert Clarke, SCCA Pro Racing President, stepped into the spotlight to review past events put on by the organization and what to look to for the upcoming race season. Clarke touted the increased participation in the flagship programs of SCCA Pro Racing, including Pirelli World Challenge, Trans Am and the Battery Tender Mazda MX-5 Cup Presented by BFGoodrich. Servicing the FIA Formula E international racing series and Formula Lites series, here in the States, are the largest two new lines of business for Pro Racing. Clarke closed his remarks by sharing his reflections of what Pro has meant to the Club, emphasizing the importance of the independently-owned subsidiary moving forward. Eric Skirmants, the Principal of SCCA Enterprises, stepped up to the podium to review 2014 an look toward 2015 plans. The Spec Racer Ford Gen3 rollout was a focal point for Skirmants. He made a point to speak to the importance of moving their suite of products forward. “At the core, participation is our biggest focus,” Skirmants said. “When we get more racers to buy our products that creates more customers for the Club in the form of race entries. The importance of the synergy between our organizations is paramount.” Mindi Pfannenstiel, SCCA Senior Director, Finance and Human Resources, broke down the financial performance of the Club. That included a net income just under $56,000, and the assurance that the organization is on the correct financial pathway moving toward the future. Raleigh Boreen, Chairman of the SCCA Foundation, wrapped up the program-based portion of the meeting with a review the Club’s philanthropic arm. The Foundation is charged with running the Tire Rack Street Survival and Formula SAE programs, as well as proper preservation of the Club’s archives. The biggest project facing the Foundation in the next year is the relocation of the archives from their current facility in Indiana to the International Motor Racing Research Center in Watkins Glen, New York. Walsh closed the annual proceedings and called for an adjournment to the meeting. Additional information on the Convention and MSX Expo, including schedules, session descriptions and registration information, can be found here.

about seo